Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Dec 2, 2022 05:43 GMT -

Search!

Latest 20 quakes above magnitude 3 in the world

Updated: Dec 2, 2022 05:43 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 5 quakes above magnitude 5
  • 39 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 121 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 323 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 617 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
A moderate magnitude 5.8 earthquake hit Waikato, New Zealand, 36 minutes ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 3.7 | Provincia de Samana, 25 km SE of Nagua, Dominican Republic -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 5.8 | Waikato, 33 km SW of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand -

Recent quakes above magnitude 3.0 worldwide (updated )

Past 24 hours166 quakes122 quakes M3+39 quakes M4+5 quakes M5+
Past 7 days1,089 quakes769 quakes M3+277 quakes M4+43 quakes M5+
Past 30 days4,815 quakes3,366 quakes M3+1,261 quakes M4+172 quakes M5+12 quakes M6+4 quakes M7+
Past 90 days16,322 quakes11,854 quakes M3+3,985 quakes M4+441 quakes M5+35 quakes M6+7 quakes M7+
Past 365 days64,203 quakes46,617 quakes M3+15,693 quakes M4+1,751 quakes M5+129 quakes M6+13 quakes M7+
...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 3.6 or higher (20 out of 1105 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, December 2, 2022 GMT (20 quakes)
Dec 2, 2022 05:24 GMT
Dec 2, 2022 1:24 am (GMT -4)
3.7

111 km
Provincia de Samana, 25 km southeast of Nagua, Dominican Republic
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 05:17 GMT
Dec 2, 2022 6:17 pm (GMT +13)
4.6

291 km
South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Dec 2, 2022 05:07 GMT
Dec 2, 2022 6:07 pm (GMT +13)
5.8

159 km
Waikato, 33 km southwest of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
I FELT IT - 31 reports
More
Dec 2, 2022 04:43 GMT
Dec 1, 2022 11:43 pm (GMT -5)
3.6

25 km
South Pacific Ocean, 166 km northwest of Copiapo, Atacama, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 03:31 GMT
Dec 2, 2022 8:31 am (GMT +5)
4.7

196 km
33 km north of Gilgit, Pakistan
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 02:56 GMT
Dec 2, 2022 10:56 am (GMT +8)
4.5

10 km
153 km east of Korla, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 02:47 GMT
Dec 2, 2022 11:47 am (GMT +9)
4.5

40 km
Ceram Sea, 195 km north of Ambon City, Maluku, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 02:24 GMT
Dec 2, 2022 5:54 am (GMT +3:30)
3.7

10 km
94 km west of Bandar Abbas, Hormozgan, Iran
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 02:00 GMT
Dec 2, 2022 5:30 am (GMT +3:30)
3.6

15 km
Fars, 37 km southeast of Dogonbadan, Kohgiluyeh and Boyer-Ahmad, Iran
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 01:52 GMT
Dec 1, 2022 10:52 pm (GMT -3)
4.4

122 km
47 km north of Ciudad de San Juan, Departamento de Capital, San Juan, Argentina
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 01:50 GMT
Dec 1, 2022 8:50 pm (GMT -5)
3.6

37 km
25 km south of Riosucio, Departamento del Choco, Colombia
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 01:48 GMT
Dec 1, 2022 8:48 pm (GMT -5)
4.7

56 km
Departamento del Choco, 46 km southwest of Chigorodo, Antioquia, Colombia
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 01:48 GMT
Dec 2, 2022 12:48 pm (GMT +11)
4.5

295 km
Coral Sea, Solomon Islands, 208 km north of Sola, Torba, Vanuatu
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 01:46 GMT
Dec 2, 2022 9:46 am (GMT +8)
3.8

10 km
85 km southwest of Xinyuan, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 01:37 GMT
Dec 1, 2022 8:37 pm (GMT -5)
3.6

142 km
40 km northeast of Zipaquira, Cundinamarca, Colombia
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 01:37 GMT
Dec 1, 2022 7:37 pm (GMT -6)
3.9

25 km
North Pacific Ocean, 92 km southwest of San Rafael del Sur, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 01:17 GMT
Dec 2, 2022 4:17 am (GMT +3)
4.0

169 km
35 km south of Aydin, Aydın, Turkey
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 00:36 GMT
Dec 1, 2022 9:36 pm (GMT -3)
3.6

114 km
26 km south of San José de Jachal, Departamento de Jachal, San Juan, Argentina
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 00:31 GMT
Dec 2, 2022 8:31 am (GMT +8)
3.6

10 km
50 km southwest of Chotan, Hotan Diqu, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 00:29 GMT
Dec 2, 2022 11:29 am (GMT +11)
4.9

72 km
North Pacific Ocean, Russia
I FELT IT
More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.7 x 1013 joules (10.2 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 8735 tons of TNT or 0.5 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings