Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Great Britain

Latest quake
See all
Mag. 2.2 earthquake 8.9 km east of Bridgwater, England, Great Britain - 3 days ago
Strongest past 30 daysMag. 3.3 8.1 km west of Tobermory, Scotland, Great Britain - Jan 29, 2024 - 3 weeks ago
- past weekMag. 2.2 8.9 km east of Bridgwater, England, Great Britain - 3 days ago
Press to show more
Updated: Feb 20, 2024 23:15 GMT -
Find all latest earthquakes in or near Great Britain in our list below, updated every minute! Events are often reported within minutes. If you just felt a quake in or near Great Britain, find out which quakes are happening right now!

Number of quakes per year

.
There were no significant confirmed earthquakes in or near Great Britain in the past 24 hours.

In the past 30 days, Great Britain has had 18 quakes of magnitudes up to 3.3:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 3
  • 5 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 12 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.

Latest: Mag. 2.2 Earthquake 8.9 km E of Bridgwater, Somerset, England, Great Britain -

Strongest: Mag. 3.3 Earthquake 8.1 km W of Tobermory, Argyll and Bute, Scotland, Great Britain -

Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
in sec
Showing all recent or significant quakes in the past 30 days, magnitude 0 or higher, within up to 50 km (31 mi) distance (18 quakes):
Date and TimeMag
Depth
Nearest VolcanoLocationDetailsMap
Feb 18, 06:51 am (universal)
Feb 18, 06:51 GMT

2.2

5 km
8.9 km east of Bridgwater, Somerset, England, Great Britain More
Wednesday, February 14, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 14, 04:26 pm (universal)
Feb 14, 16:26 GMT

1.2

2 km
6.8 km north of Islay, Argyll and Bute, Scotland, Great Britain More
Saturday, February 10, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 10, 01:06 pm (universal)
Feb 10, 13:06 GMT

1.0

18 km
17 km southwest of Hereford, Herefordshire, England, Great Britain More
Thursday, February 8, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 8, 12:00 am (universal)
Feb 8, 00:00 GMT

1.5

12 km
12 km southeast of Bangor, Gwynedd, Wales, Great Britain 5 reportsMore
Friday, February 2, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 2, 09:17 am (London)
Feb 2, 08:17 GMT

1.1

7 km
26 km southwest of Carlisle, Cumbria, England, Great Britain More
Thursday, February 1, 2024 GMT (2 quakes)
Feb 1, 08:06 pm (London)
Feb 1, 19:06 GMT

1.4

6 km
Highland, 20 km northwest of Oban, Argyll and Bute, Scotland, Great Britain More
Feb 1, 07:34 pm (London)
Feb 1, 18:34 GMT

2.8

7 km
Highland, 24 km northwest of Oban, Argyll and Bute, Scotland, Great Britain 2 reportsMore
Monday, January 29, 2024 GMT (9 quakes)
Jan 29, 08:41 pm (London)
Jan 29, 19:41 GMT

1.1

7 km
10 km southwest of Tobermory, Argyll and Bute, Scotland, Great Britain 1 reportMore
Jan 29, 08:38 pm (London)
Jan 29, 19:38 GMT

1.0

7 km
9.2 km southwest of Tobermory, Argyll and Bute, Scotland, Great Britain More
Jan 29, 08:34 pm (London)
Jan 29, 19:34 GMT

1.4

7 km
8.6 km southwest of Tobermory, Argyll and Bute, Scotland, Great Britain More
Jan 29, 08:33 pm (London)
Jan 29, 19:33 GMT

1.9

7 km
5.9 km southwest of Tobermory, Argyll and Bute, Scotland, Great Britain More
Show more
About these data
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 7.8 x 109 joules (2.16 megawatt hours, equivalent to 1.86 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Great Britain Quake-O-Meter

Has seismic activity increased or decreased?
Number of quakes: -
Number of quakes vs average
Seismic Activity: ? %
Seismic activity vs average
Below average
Normal range
Above average
Updated

Quakes, magnitude and depth over time

Past 7 days
14 days
30 days
1 year
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes over time
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes over time
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes over time
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes over time

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Eskdalemuir Array, site EKR10, Scotland (EKR10/IM network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Eskdalemuir Array, site EKR10, Scotland: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!

Earthquake statistics

Number of quakes per year

Note:
The apparent increase in the number of quakes since around 2010 is not because seismic activity has increased, but mostly due to three factors:
1) We only started to systematically collect seismic data for smaller quakes worldwide since 2010.
2) The number of seismic networks around the world and their sensitivity to detect smaller quakes has increased drastically in recent years.
3) Data availability through the internet has increased significantly as well. Many national agencies only started reporting earthquakes publicly in the past 10 years or so.

Average number of earthquakes

Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 87 quakes on average per year in the United Kingdom:
  • Mag. 5 or higher: 0.1 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 10 years)
  • Mag. 4 or higher: 1.38 quakes per year
  • Mag. 3 or higher: 6.4 quakes per year
  • Mag. 2 or higher: 25.4 quakes per year
  • Mag. 1 or higher: 71 quakes per year
The United Kingdom has relatively few earthquakes. No earthquakes of magnitude 5 or higher are known to have occurred in the United Kingdom over the past 54 years. This does not mean that they cannot occur, but if any suggests that quakes of this strength are extremely rare.

Number of recent quakes in or near Great Britain by magnitude

30 days
3 years
10 years
Table
Mag
 
Number of quakes (18 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
-
no quakes Mag 4 or higher
3+
1 quake
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (5.56%)
2+
5 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (27.78%)
below M2
12 quakes
(66.67%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (321 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
1 quake
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (0.31%)
3+
20 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (6.23%)
2+
65 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (20.25%)
below M2
235 quakes
(73.21%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (877 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
1 quake
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (0.11%)
4+
13 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (1.48%)
3+
51 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (5.82%)
2+
193 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (22.01%)
below M2
619 quakes
(70.58%)
Total number<M2M2+M3+M4+M5+M6+M7+
Past 7 days2 quakes11-----
Past 30 days18 quakes1251----
Past 3 years321 quakes17165201---
Past 10 years877 quakes46619351131--
Magnitude 0.0+, within up to 50 km (31 mi) distance, updated

Number of earthquakes over time

Past 90 days
30 days
7 days
24 hours
2023
2024 so far
Number of earthquakes over time: Past 90 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 30 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 7 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 24 hours
Number of earthquakes over time: 2023
Number of earthquakes over time: 2024 so far

Magnitude and seismic energy over time

Past 90 days
30 days
7 days
24 hours
2023
2024 so far
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: Past 90 days
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: 30 days
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: 7 days
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: 24 hours
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: 2023
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: 2024 so far

Magnitude and energy distribution

Past 90 days
30 days
7 days
24 hours
2023
2024 so far
Magnitude and energy distribution: Past 90 days
Magnitude and energy distribution: 30 days
Magnitude and energy distribution: 7 days
Magnitude and energy distribution: 24 hours
Magnitude and energy distribution: 2023
Magnitude and energy distribution: 2024 so far

Great Britain Earthquake FAQ

How frequent are earthquakes in the United Kingdom?

The United Kingdom has relatively few earthquakes. Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 87 quakes on average per year in the United Kingdom. No earthquakes of magnitude 5 or higher are known to have occurred in the United Kingdom over the past 54 years. This does not mean that they cannot occur, but if any suggests that quakes of this strength are extremely rare.

When was the latest earthquake in or near Great Britain?

The last earthquake in or near Great Britain occurred 3 days ago:

A light magnitude 2.2 earthquake hit 8.9 km (5.6 mi) away from Bridgwater, England,  United Kingdom, Sun, Feb 18, 2024 06:51 GMT. The quake had a very shallow depth of 5 km (3.1 mi) and was not felt (or at least not reported so).

How many quakes were there in or near Great Britain in the past 30 days?

In the past 30 days, Great Britain has had 1 quake of magnitude 3.3 and 5 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There have been also 12 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

What was the strongest quake in or near Great Britain in the past 30 days?

The strongest earthquake in or near Great Britain in the past 30 days occurred 3 weeks ago:

A light magnitude 3.3 earthquake hit 8.1 km (5 mi) away from Tobermory, Scotland,  United Kingdom, in the late afternoon of Monday, Jan 29, 2024 at 7.30 pm local time (Europe/London GMT +0). The quake had a very shallow depth of 7 km (4.3 mi) and was felt widely in the area.

Embed or share standalone map

You can use the standalone version of our interactive earthquake map or embed it on your website:

Largest Quakes in or near Great Britain

Strongest in 10 years

The largest quake that occurred in or near Great Britain during the past 10 years was a magnitude 5.5 earthquake that hit Scotland,  Great Britain, 9 years ago on Thursday, Oct 9, 2014, at 08:15 pm local time (Europe/London GMT +1).

Strongest since 1900

Mag. 5.0 earthquake Wales, England, Great Britain - Jul 19, 1984 - 40 years ago
40 years ago, Wales,  Great Britain, was hit by a magnitude 5.0 quake on Thursday, Jul 19, 1984, at 07:56 am local time (Europe/London GMT +1). This was the largest earthquake to have occurred in or near Great Britain in more than 100 years (since 1900).
Below is a list and map of the largest quakes in or near Great Britain in recent years and since 1900.
Date and TimeMag
Depth
###DIST_LABEL###LocationDetailsMap
Mar 25, 2022 04:56 GMT
Mar 25, 2022 04:56 am (GMT +0)
4.0

100 km
218 km (135 mi) to the NE North Sea, 256 km northeast of Aberdeen, Aberdeen City, Scotland, Great Britain More
Jul 1, 2020 04:21 GMT
Jul 1, 2020 05:21 am (London)
4.9

11 km
10 km (6.2 mi) to the NW Inner Seas off the West Coast of Scotland, 85 km west of Greenock, Great Britain More
Apr 23, 2020 05:30 GMT
Apr 23, 2020 05:30 am (GMT +0)
4.0

10 km
55 km (34 mi) to the SE 239 km northeast of London, England, United Kingdom 2 reportsMore
Feb 22, 2020 18:43 GMT
Feb 22, 2020 06:43 pm (GMT +0)
4.4

7 km
181 km (112 mi) to the E 219 km northeast of Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom More
Sep 24, 2019 13:38 GMT
Sep 24, 2019 01:38 pm (GMT +0)
4.5

10 km
227 km (141 mi) to the NE North Sea, 241 km east of Aberdeen, Aberdeen City, Scotland, Great Britain 7 reportsMore
Jun 9, 2018 22:14 GMT
Jun 9, 2018 11:14 pm (London)
4.0

2 km
East Yorkshire, 8.5 km north of Grimsby, Great Britain More
Feb 17, 2018 14:31 GMT
Feb 17, 2018 02:31 pm (London)
4.9

10 km
3.2 km north of Neath, Neath Port Talbot, Wales, Great Britain 5491 reportsMore
Jun 30, 2017 13:33 GMT
Jun 30, 2017 01:33 pm (GMT +0)
4.3

0 km
233 km (145 mi) to the NE North Sea, 254 km east of Aberdeen, Aberdeen City, Scotland, Great Britain More
Jan 3, 2017 18:52 GMT
Jan 3, 2017 06:52 pm (GMT +0)
4.0

10 km
134 km (83 mi) to the E North Sea, 352 km north of London, Greater London, England, Great Britain 2 reportsMore
Nov 3, 2016 10:57 GMT
Nov 3, 2016 10:57 am (GMT +0)
4.2

116 km
198 km (123 mi) to the NE North Sea, 279 km northeast of Aberdeen, Aberdeen City, Scotland, Great Britain 1 reportMore
Aug 6, 2015 15:03 GMT
Aug 6, 2015 03:03 pm (GMT +0)
4.2

10 km
49 km (30 mi) to the SE North Sea, 63 km north of Great Yarmouth, Norfolk, England, Great Britain More
May 22, 2015 01:52 GMT
May 22, 2015 02:52 am (London)
4.0

10 km
7.4 km west of Thanet, Kent, England, Great Britain 941 reportsMore
Oct 9, 2014 19:15 GMT
Oct 9, 2014 08:15 pm (London)
5.5

120 km
4 km (2.5 mi) to the NW Inner Seas off the West Coast of Scotland, 13 km northeast of Coll, Great Britain 2 reportsMore
Feb 20, 2014 13:21 GMT
Feb 20, 2014 02:21 pm (London)
4.1

5 km
17 km (10.6 mi) to the S England, 33 km southwest of Swansea, Swansea, Wales, Great Britain 78 reportsMore
Aug 30, 2012 13:47 GMT
Aug 30, 2012 03:47 pm (Paris)
4.1

16 km
29 km (18 mi) to the SE 20 km northwest of Portus Itius, Pas-de-Calais, Hauts-de-France, France More
Feb 27, 2008 00:56 GMT
Feb 27, 2008 01:56 am (London)
4.8

18 km
1.8 km north of Market Rasen, Lincolnshire, England, Great Britain More
Apr 28, 2007 07:18 GMT
Apr 28, 2007 08:18 am (London)
4.6

10 km
7.5 km southwest of Lyminge, Kent, England, Great Britain More
Jan 7, 2007 01:50 GMT
Jan 7, 2007 01:50 am (GMT +0)
4.8

10 km
158 km (98 mi) to the N Great Britain More
Sep 22, 2002 23:53 GMT
Sep 23, 2002 12:53 am (London)
4.8

9.4 km
Staffordshire, 5 km northwest of Dudley, Dudley, England, Great Britain More
Dec 8, 2000 05:53 GMT
Dec 8, 2000 05:53 am (GMT +0)
4.7

10 km
167 km (104 mi) to the NE Great Britain More
Oct 25, 1999 19:15 GMT
Oct 25, 1999 08:15 pm (London)
4.5

10 km
Powys, 15 km northwest of Merthyr Tydfil, Merthyr Tydfil, Wales, Great Britain More
Feb 15, 1994 10:15 GMT
Feb 15, 1994 11:15 am (London)
4.4

10 km
Suffolk, 7.9 km southeast of Thetford, Norfolk, England, Great Britain More
Apr 2, 1990 13:46 GMT
Apr 2, 1990 02:46 pm (London)
4.7

18 km
34 km northwest of Hereford, Herefordshire, England, Great Britain More
Jul 19, 1984 06:56 GMT
Jul 19, 1984 07:56 am (London)
5.0

13 km
4 km (2.5 mi) to the SW Wales, 94 km west of Chester, Cheshire, England, Great Britain More
Dec 26, 1979 03:57 GMT
Dec 26, 1979 04:57 am (London)
4.5

10 km
16 km east of Carlisle, Cumbria, England, Great Britain More

Map of largest quakes in or near Great Britain

[smaller] [bigger]

Earthquakes in or near Great Britain

Quakes in nearby regions

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

On this page:

Try our free app!

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!

Since 2012, we have been bringing you fast and accurate earthquake information from trusted sources around the world, including:

Felt a quake? Report it!
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
owned and created by
VolcanoDiscovery / Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist
Imprint | AllQuakes.Com © 2012- All Rights Reserved