Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Aug 10, 2022 04:20 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Latest 20 quakes above magnitude 3 in the world

Updated Aug 10, 2022 04:20 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 4 quakes above magnitude 5
  • 27 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 89 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 254 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 441 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, there were 4 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above, 27 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 89 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 254 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 441 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A strong magnitude 5.0 earthquake occurred in South Atlantic Ocean, South Georgia & South Sandwich Islands, 10 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 3.4 | Aegean Sea, 36 km NW of Eresos, Lesvos, North Aegean, Greece -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 5.0 | South Atlantic Ocean, South Georgia & South Sandwich Islands -

Recent quakes above magnitude 3.0 worldwide (updated )

Past 24 hours:120 quakes | 89 quakes M3+ | 27 quakes M4+ | 4 quakes M5+
Strongest quake: Mag. 5.7 on Tuesday, Aug 9, 2022 at 5:37 am (GMT -5)South Pacific Ocean
Past 7 days:985 quakes | 734 quakes M3+ | 220 quakes M4+ | 31 quakes M5+
Past 30 days:5,024 quakes | 3,740 quakes M3+ | 1,139 quakes M4+ | 139 quakes M5+ | 5 quakes M6+ | 1 quake M7+
Past 90 days:14,922 quakes | 10,793 quakes M3+ | 3,725 quakes M4+ | 381 quakes M5+ | 21 quakes M6+ | 2 quakes M7+
Past 365 days:62,873 quakes | 45,829 quakes M3+ | 15,027 quakes M4+ | 1,875 quakes M5+ | 128 quakes M6+ | 14 quakes M7+
...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 3.3 or higher (20 out of 815 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, August 10, 2022 GMT (4 quakes)
Aug 10, 2022 04:06 GMT
Aug 10, 2022 7:06 am (GMT +3)
3.4

10 km
Aegean Sea, 36 km northwest of Eresos, Lesvos, North Aegean, Greece
I FELT IT
More
Aug 10, 2022 04:01 GMT
Aug 10, 2022 12:01 pm (GMT +8)
4.6

10 km
Molucca Sea, 66 km southeast of Bitung, North Sulawesi, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Aug 10, 2022 03:31 GMT
Aug 10, 2022 12:31 pm (GMT +9)
3.5

221 km
27 km northeast of Rumoi, Hokkaido, Japan
I FELT IT
More
Aug 10, 2022 02:56 GMT
Aug 10, 2022 1:56 pm (GMT +11)
4.8

142 km
Coral Sea, Solomon Islands, 244 km northwest of Sola, Torba, Vanuatu
I FELT IT
More
Tuesday, August 9, 2022 GMT (16 quakes)
Aug 9, 2022 22:28 GMT
Aug 9, 2022 7:28 pm (GMT -3)
4.8

109 km
17 km south of San José de Jachal, Departamento de Jachal, San Juan, Argentina
I FELT IT
More
Aug 9, 2022 21:47 GMT
Aug 10, 2022 4:47 am (GMT +7)
4.0

10 km
Indian Ocean, 219 km southwest of Bandar Lampung, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Aug 9, 2022 21:37 GMT
Aug 9, 2022 5:37 pm (GMT -4)
3.9

120 km
147 km southeast of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Aug 9, 2022 21:28 GMT
Aug 9, 2022 4:28 pm (GMT -5)
3.7

6 km
44 km east of Autlan de Navarro, Jalisco, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Aug 9, 2022 21:21 GMT
Aug 9, 2022 12:21 pm (GMT -9)
4.6

35 km
Bering Sea, Alaska, USA
I FELT IT
More
Aug 9, 2022 21:12 GMT
Aug 9, 2022 4:12 pm (GMT -5)
3.8

18 km
North Pacific Ocean, 33 km east of Salina Cruz, Oaxaca, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Aug 9, 2022 20:47 GMT
Aug 10, 2022 3:47 am (GMT +7)
3.3

196 km
95 km east of Padangsidempuan, North Sumatra, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Aug 9, 2022 20:29 GMT
Aug 10, 2022 3:29 am (GMT +7)
3.8

10 km
29 km north of Phôngsali, Laos
I FELT IT
More
Aug 9, 2022 20:25 GMT
Aug 9, 2022 5:25 pm (GMT -3)
3.5

235 km
234 km southeast of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Aug 9, 2022 19:04 GMT
Aug 9, 2022 1:04 pm (GMT -6)
3.9

16 km
North Pacific Ocean, 57 km southwest of Salina Cruz, Oaxaca, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Aug 9, 2022 18:53 GMT
Aug 9, 2022 1:53 pm (GMT -5)
3.3

18 km
9.8 km west of Puerto Armuelles, Baru District, Provincia de Chiriqui, Panama
I FELT IT
More
Aug 9, 2022 18:52 GMT
Aug 9, 2022 1:52 pm (GMT -5)
3.4

40 km
35 km north of Puerto Escondido, San Pedro Mixtepec -Dto. 22 -, Oaxaca, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Aug 9, 2022 18:42 GMT
Aug 9, 2022 1:42 pm (GMT -5)
3.6

148 km
22 km northwest of Poblado 10, Uxpanapa, Veracruz, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Aug 9, 2022 18:40 GMT
Aug 9, 2022 1:40 pm (GMT -5)
3.6

11 km
15 km north of Acapulco, Guerrero, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Aug 9, 2022 18:39 GMT
Aug 9, 2022 4:39 pm (GMT -2)
5.0

10 km
South Atlantic Ocean, South Georgia & South Sandwich Islands
I FELT IT
More
Aug 9, 2022 18:14 GMT
Aug 10, 2022 3:14 am (GMT +9)
3.5

72 km
10.7 km northwest of Chiba, Japan
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 5.3 x 1012 joules (1.48 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1273 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings